Winner of The Nobel Prize in Literature 2019

Congratulations to Austrian writer Peter Handke, with whom Farrar, Straus and Giroux has been working since the early 1970s, on winning the 2019 Nobel Prize in Literature.

FSG President Jonathan Galassi on the Austrian writer’s impact on literature: “Handke is one of the great German prose stylists, who has spent his career exploring both the natural world and the world of human consciousness with exquisite precision, humor, and courage.” And as Jeffrey Eugenides writes: “Handke’s sharp eye is always finding a strange beauty amid this colorless world.”

Farrar, Straus and Giroux first published Handke in 1970 with his collection Kaspar and Other Plays, followed in 1972 by the novel The Goalie’s Anxiety at the Penalty Kick (reissued in 2007 as an FSG Classic). Since then, FSG has published more than 15 books by Handke in the United States, including Short Letter, Long Farewell (1974), A Sorrow Beyond Dreams (1975), Repetition (1988), My Year in the No-Man’s-Bay (1998), Crossing the Sierra de Gredos (2007), and, most recently, The Moravian Night (2016).

We are excited to continue bringing this important voice to American readers, and have plans to publish translations of Handke’s most recent novel, The Fruit Thief (published in German in 2017), and a new, expanded edition of his classic The Jukebox & Other Essays on Storytelling.

Peter Handke was born in Griffen, Austria, in 1942. His many works include The Goalie’s Anxiety at the Penalty Kick, A Sorrow Beyond Dreams, My Year in No-Man’s-Bay, On a Dark Night I Left My Silent House, Crossing the Sierra de Gredos, and Don Juan, all published by FSG. Handke’s plays include Kaspar and The Hour We Knew Nothing of Each Other, and he wrote the screenplay for Wim Wenders’s Wings of Desire. In 2014, Handke was awarded the International Ibsen Prize and was the recipient of the 2019 Nobel Prize for Literature.